Birthday cheer

It was his fifth birthday with me at his side.

Twenty-seven years ago, my significant other was born. I had spent the week wracking my brain about what to get him. He is part of a dying breed of man who still believe in and practice chivalry–a quality that warms my heart every time I think about it. But it makes gift-receiving a little hard for him. He doesn’t like me spending money on him. He doesn’t even like his mom spending money on him.

Sometimes I’m overwhelmed by how much I love him. I think about it too much maybe. Just buying him a card was overwhelming. I couldn’t read a single card at Hallmark without shedding a tear (or two). Which is not to say that he is the hallmark of men… okay maybe it is.

The truth is, I was in a really ugly place before him. I can’t even imagine where I’d be without him. The point is, I wouldn’t be here. And I’ve never been so happy with the present in my whole life.

That’s not to say that there isn’t bouts of paranoia, or uncertainty, or even fear of the future. But none of that drowns out how grateful I am about everything I have today. And I will be the first to say that none of this would be here without him.

But he would never take credit for it.

Leave a Reply

