Four Years and Counting

Four Years and Counting

Four years ago, I finally caved.
This guy kept asking me out. And I had never been so terrified by a guy in my life.

It wasn’t the first time I’d been asked out. It wasn’t even the first time I had been pursued. But this kind of fear was different. He was such a good friend. Who does he think he is? What if I messed things up? If not now, when? Where will this go after? How is this going to work?

Why did I care so much?

He saw something in me that I had yet to acknowledge. I know the kind of love I give, and I have a history of throwing those pearls to the pigs. He saw that I deserve that kind of love in return. The kind of love St. Paul talks of, the kind of affection that you hear about in love songs and books. I deserved the kind of life worth fighting for, not the kind that I should settle on.

I couldn’t figure that out four years ago. Yet I took the dive anyway.

To date, I’m still falling but I’ve never felt so high in my life.

Leave a Reply

